Rome travel guide


:: Rome » Rome City
Rome Travel Guide

Rome City

Rome is the capital city of Italy and of the Lazio region, besides the country's largest and most famous city, with approximately 2.7 million residents. The metropolitan area enjoys of a population of about 4 million. It is situated in the central-western portion of the Italian peninsula, on the Tiber River.

Rome is known as:
  • Caput Mundi (Capital of the world)
  • La Cittą Eterna (The Eternal City)
  • Limen Apostolorum (Threshold of the Apostles)
  • La cittą dei sette colli (The city of the seven hills)
  • Or simply l'Urbe (The City).
Ancient Rome was an important centre of Western civilization, and Rome is still the base of the Roman Catholic Church which manages the Vatican City as its sovereign territory, an enclave of Rome.

As of the present moment, Rome is modern and cosmopolitan. It is the third most-visited tourist destination in the European Union and a city of cultural and political distinction. Its international airport located at Fiumicino is the biggest in Italy; it hosts the head offices of the vast majority of the principal Italian companies, as well as the headquarters of three of the world's 100 largest companies.

As one of the few major European cities that escaped World War II relatively unscathed, central Rome remains essentially Renaissance and Baroque in character.

Rome is unique in the world in having a sovereign state situated entirely within its city limits, the Vatican City. The Vatican is an enclave of Rome and a sovereign possession of the Holy See the supreme government of the Roman Catholic Church. Rome hosts foreign embassies to both Italy and the Holy See, although frequently the same ambassador is accredited to both.

About us | Contact us | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Legal Terms

© 2009 - 2020 - All Rights Reserved